A Bull Market for Virginity

It was reported on the Fox News website yesterday that there’s a 22 year old woman (who has apparently never heard of Stafford loans or Pell grants) who is auctioning off her virginity to pay for grad school. The transaction is being brokered by the “Moonlite Bunny Ranch” brothel in Nevada where prostitution is perfectly legal, so there’s not much that authorities can do to stop her. She has reportedly received a top offer of $3.7 million dollars to this point.

Now this story disturbs me on so many levels that I don’t have the time to address them all, but I would like to pose a question or two:

1. How did female virginity become so incredibly rare that it now fetches nearly $4 million dollars on the open market?

[Up until roughly 150 years ago, people actually paid to get rid of virgins. A father would pay a young man a “dowry” (in the form of cash, livestock or goods) to take a virgin daughter off his hands and marry her.]

2. After a 40% drop in all the major stock indexes over the past 4 months, who has $3.7 million dollars left in their account to pay for such an “extravagance”?

3. What kind of person is so distorted that she would willingly prostitute herself – handing over her body in exchange for mere money?

…Oh wait; I am that kind of distorted person. I prostitute myself to the devil more often than I care to admit – willingly submitting my body to works of sin & evil (and I don’t even ask for money in exchange!). And yet, distorted, compromised & prostituted as I am, Jesus paid far more than $3.7 million to get me. He paid with his life at infinite cost. So I have no grounds for wagging my finger and feeling morally superior to this woman. I simply hope she comes to see that she’s worth more than money to Jesus and that he will take care of all her debts – at least the debts that truly matter.

 

Eron Elswick

Worship – Grow – Serve

Leave a Reply

